Tags

, ,

Copyright by Flora Breen Robison

Inspired by a close call I had walking home one day. It is safest for the pedestrian to assume that drivers will not stop for you and they cannot see you. Most can and do stop, but you must look out for the drivers who will not or you will be in an accident. 

 

DANGEROUS WHEN CROSSING:

 

Why did I think it was safe to cross

The street when the light turned green?

The driver waiting to turn didn’t mean

To wait for my right of way.

 

I thought I knew the meaning

Of that bright white flashing light

To signal it’s the walker’s right

But it just won’t work for me.

 

Just when did that green light

Signal that cars turned right away?

Before the walker’s right of way

It gave me quite a fright.

 

I went to step into the road

To cross the street quickly

It made me quite sickly

To see the cars’ new code.

 

“Quick! Before she goes

To cross the street, I’ll turn!”

Just when will I ever learn

This new rule-who knows?

